About Us

Grassroots Economics is a non-profit foundation that seeks to empower marginalized communities to take charge of their own livelihoods and economic future. We focus on community development through economic empowerment, basic income and community currency programs. Beneficiaries of our programs include small businesses and people living in informal settlements as well as rural areas.

Our goal is to improve the lives of those who are most vulnerable.

Our work builds on a rich history of community programs in Africa. We have implemented community currency programs in 45 locations across Kenya and assisted with 2 in South Africa and helped more than 40,000 small businesses, churches and schools take an active role in their own economy and development. We are currently developing programs all over Kenya and providing technical support for those outside Kenya.




Will Ruddick


Caroline Dama


Sylvia Karanja

Data Quality Engineer

Damaris Njoroge

Program Coordinator

Amina Godana

Support Engineer

Louis Holbrook

Senior Software Developer

Spencer Ofwiti

Software Engineer

Philip Wafula

Software Developer

Joyce Kamauk

Support Engineer

Isavary Khabuqwi

Communications Engineer

Emmanuel Mbui

Support Engineer

Fransisca (Mami) Achieng

Field Support Engineer

Fennie Wang

Legal Counsel

Janet Treezer

Support Engineer

Grace Rachmany


Gustav Stromfelt


A special thanks to our advisors and individual sponsors

Holger Hoffmann-Riem

Jeff Emmet

Griff Green

Fennie Wang

Reba Chabeda

Counsel Reza Zain Jaufeerally

Carmen Mauk

Professor Jem Bendell

Robert Mutsaers

Ahmed Maawy

Thibaud Dezyn, Jimmy Heyns, Henk Van Arkel, Elvis Ogweno, Annette Loudon, Chris Lindstrom, Christina Bordes, Elizabeth Weiland, Gilfrid Powys, Loucéro Mariani, Jim and Ellen Wagner, The Ruddick Family, The Kowa Family, Dawn Richards, Edmond Oklahoma United Methodist Women, Prof. Dr. Margrit Kennedy, Prof. Declan Kennedy, Dr. Jeremy Bendell, Xenia Heinze, Association TAOA, Jamie Brown, Kevin Cox, Sergio Lub, Hayem Etienne, Edgar Kampers, DELAMARE, David Hall, MULLER, Marie-Hélène, Barbara Schiess, Eva Vander Giessen, Joseph Leonardi, Susan Steed, Guido Hosman, Gabriel Grimsditch, Tobias Fields, Nemo Curiel, Hugo Godschalk, Guido Hosman, Lorne Covington, Bob and Margaret Macemon, Sergio Lub, Mark and Julie Richards, Carla Lundberg, PINTO Romain, Scott Williams, Barbara Schiess, Aaron Vaillancourt, Leander Bindewald, Brent Ranalli, Eric Harris-Braun, Martin Kreidenweis, Georg Pluta, Arthur Brock, Daniel Quay, Guy Staniforth